

Board of Trustees

International Crisis Group's Board of Trustees has 45 members drawn from 33 countries. They bring a wide array of perspectives drawn from their experience at the highest levels of government, business and philanthropic institutions. Their wisdom, influence and global reach lend weight to Crisis Group policy recommendations to prevent, manage and resolve deadly conflict.

Watch our Board Members explain why they act to support conflict prevention, to end Yemen's civil war and to resolve Venezuela's crisis.

BOARD PRESIDENT & CEO PEOPLE HISTORY CRISIS GROUP UPDATES

[CONTENTS]	
Malley, Robert, PRESIDENT	
Malloch-Brown, Lord Mark, CHAIRMAN	Koenders, Bert
	Kortunov, Andrey
Abramowitz, Mort	Krastev, Ivan
Adeola, Fola	Livni, Tzipi
Ahtisaari, Martti	Lund, Helge
al-Kidwa, Nasser	Malcorra, Susana
Ansary, Hushang	McRaven, William H.
Araud, Gerard	Merion, Shivshankar
Bildt, Carl	Mitchel, George J.
Bonino, Emma	Modirzadeh, Naz
Calderon, Juan Manuel Santos	Mohseni, Saad
Carolous, Cheryl	Natalegawa, Marty
Cattaui, Maria Livanos	Obe, Ayo
Charai, Ahmed	O'Sullivan, Meghan
Delapalme, Nathalie	Pickering, Thomas R.
Downer, Alexander	Rashid, Ahmed
Evans, Gareth	Sherman, Wendy
Fadel, Robert	Shuli, Hu
Gabriel, Sigmar	Sirleaf, Ellen Johnson
Giustra, Frank	Soros, Alexander
Hadley, Stephen	Soros, George
Ibrahim, Mo	Store, Jonas Gahr
Jisi, Wang	Sullivan, Jake
Kawaguchi, Yoriko	Summers, Lawrence H.
Khanfar, Wadah	Thorning-Schmidt, Helle

President & CEO



Robert Malley
President & CEO

Chair



Lord (Mark) Malloch-Brown

Former UN Deputy Secretary-General and Administrator of the United Nations Development Programme (UNDP)

Lord Mark Malloch-Brown is a former number two in the UN, and has also served in the British Cabinet and Foreign Office. He is active in both the business and the non-profit world, and also remains deeply involved in international affairs. He is a Senior Advisor at Eurasia, engaging with its clients on questions of political risk...

READ MORE

Trustees



Fola Adeola
Founder and Chairman,
FATE Foundation



Chairman, Parman Capital Group LLC; Former Iranian Ambassador to the U.S and Minister of Finance and Economic Affairs

Hushang Ansary



Gérard Araud Former Ambassador of France to the U.S.



Carl Bildt
Former Prime Minister
and Foreign Minister of
Sweden



Emma Bonino
Former Foreign Minister
of Italy and European
Commissioner for
Humanitarian Aid



Cheryl Carolus
Former South African
High Commissioner to
the UK and Secretary
General of the African
National Congress
(ANC)



Maria Livanos Cattaui Former Secretary-General of the International Chamber of Commerce



Ahmed Charai Chairman and CEO of Global Media Holding



Delapalme
Executive Director and
Board Member of the
Mo Ibrahim Foundation

Nathalie



Downer
Former Minister of
Foreign Affairs and High
Commissioner to the
United Kingdom of
Australia

Alexander



Robert Fadel
Former Member of
Parliament in Lebanon;
Owner & Board member
of the ABC Group



Sigmar Gabriel
Former Minister of
Foreign Affairs and Vice
Chancellor of Germany



Frank Giustra
Founder, Radoliffe
Foundation



Stephen Hadley
Former U.S. Assistant to
President George W.
Bush for National
Security Affairs (20052009); Principal of
RiceHadleyGates LLC



Hu Shuli Editor-in-Chief of Caixin Media; Professor at Sun Yat-sen University



Mo Ibrahim

Founder and Chair, Mo Ibrahim Foundation;
Founder, Celtel
International



Ellen Johnson Sirleaf

Former President of Liberia



Yoriko Kawaguchi

Former Foreign Minister of Japan; Former Environment Minister



Wadah Khanfar

Co-Founder, Al Sharq Forum; Former Director General, Al Jazeera Network



Nasser al-Kidwa

Chairman of the Yasser Arafat Foundation; Former League of Arab States Special Representative for Libya; Former Joint Deputy Representative for Syria; Former Minister of Foreign Affairs, Palestinian Authority; Former Permanent Observer of Palestine to UN



Bert Koenders

Former Dutch Minister of Foreign Affairs and Under-Secretary-General of the United Nations



Andrey Kortunov

Director General of the Russian International Affairs Council



Ivan Krastev

Chairman of the Centre for Liberal Strategies (Sofia); Founding board member of European Council on Foreign Relations



Tzipi Livni

Former Foreign Minister and Vice Prime Minister of Israel



Helge Lund

Former Chief Executive BG Group (UK) and Statoil (Norway)



Susana Malcorra

Former Foreign Minister of Argentina; Former Chef de Cabinet of the UN Secretary-General



William H. McRaven

Retired U.S. Navy Admiral who served as 9th Commander of the U.S. Special Operations Command



Shivshankar Menon

Former Foreign Secretary of India; Former National Security Advisor



Naz Modirzadeh

Director of the Harvard Law School Program on International Law and Armed Conflict



Saad Mohseni

Chairman and Chief Executive Officer of MOBY Group



Marty Natalegawa

Former Minister of Foreign Affairs of Indonesia, Permanent Representative to the UN, and Ambassador to the UK



Ayo Obe

Chair of the Board of Gorée Institute (Senegal); Legal Practitioner (Nigeria)



Meghan O'Sullivan

Former U.S. Deputy National Security Adviser on Iraq and Afghanistan; Professor of Practice, Harvard University



Thomas R. Pickering

Former U.S. Under Secretary of State and Ambassador to the UN, Russia, India, Israel, Jordan, El Salvador and Nigeria



Ahmed Rashid

Author and Foreign Policy Journalist, Pakistan



Juan Manuel Santos Calderón

Former President of Colombia; Nobel Peace Prize Laureate 2016



Wendy Sherman

Former U.S Under-Secretary of State for Political Affairs and Lead Negotiator for the Iran Nuclear Deal



George Soros

Founder, Open Society Foundations and Chair, Soros Fund Management



Alexander Soros

Deputy Chair of the Global Board, Open Society Foundations



Jonas Gahr Støre

Leader of the Labour Party and Labour Party Parliamentary Group; Former Foreign Minister of Norway



Jake Sullivan

Former Director of Policy Planning at the U.S. Department of State, Deputy Assistant to President Obama, and National Security Advisor to Vice President Biden



Lawrence H. Summers

Former Director of the US National Economic Council and Secretary of the U.S. Treasury; President Emeritus of Harvard University



Helle Thorning-Schmidt

CEO of Save the Children International; Former Prime Minister of Denmark



Wang Jisi

Member, Foreign Policy Advisory Committee of the Chinese Foreign Ministry; President, Institute of International and Strategic Studies, Peking University

Chairmen Emeriti



Martti Ahtisaari

Former President of Finland



George J. Mitchell

Former U.S. Senate Majority Leader

President Emeritus



Gareth Evans

Former Foreign Affairs Minister of Australia

Founder and Trustee Emeritus



Mort Abramowitz
Former U.S. Assistant
Secretary of State and
Ambassador to Turkey

Reproduced for educational purposes only. Fair Use relied upon.*

*Note: This webpage was rendered partially disabled in all html to pdf modes. Therefore, this page was reconstructed using a series of screen captures. We added the CONTENTS summary at the beginning.