<u>_(/)</u>

WORKING TOGETHER TO SECURE THE FUTURE

> Home (/)

Menu

> Search (/search)

Distinguished Leadership Awards

ABOUT THE DISTINGUISHED LEADERSHIP AWARDS

Each year the Atlantic Council honors several distinguished leaders for their versatile contributions to the strengthening of the transatlantic relationship.

"These awards are designed to spotlight the inspired leadership our complex world requires. While at the same time representing essential pillars of the transatlantic relationship: political, business, arts, and humanitarian leadership."

---Brent Scowcroft, Atlantic Council interim chairman

2017 Honorees

HRH Princess Haya Bint Al Hussein - Distinguished Humanitarian Leadership Award
Renee Fleming - Distinguished Artistic Leadership Award
William C. Ford, Jr. - Distinguished Business Leadership Award
Admiral Michelle Howard - Distinguished Military Leadership Award
H.E. Jens Stoltenberg - Distinguished International Leadership Award

2016 Honorees

Dr. Robert Gates - Distinguished International Leadership
General Joseph L. Votel - Distinguished Military Leadership
Mr. Henry R. Kravis - Distinguished Business Leadership

Mr. Vittorio Grigòlo - Distinguished Artistic Leadership

2015 Honorees

H.E. Ashraf Ghani - Distinguished International Leadership
Ms. Marillyn A. Hewson - Distinguished Business Leadership
General Philip M. Breedlove - Distinguished Military Leadership
Mr. Toby Keith - Distinguished Artistic Leadership

2014 Honorees

President José Manuel Barroso - Distinguished International Leadership
Secretary Charles T. Hagel - Distinguished International Leadership
Dr. Thomas Enders - Distinguished Business Leadership
General Joseph F. Dunford, Jr. - Distinguished Military Leadership
Ms. Ruslana Lyzhychko - Distinguished Humanitarian Leadership

2013 Honorees

Secretary Hillary Clinton - Distinguished International Leadership
Mr. Anders Fogh Rasmussen - Distinguished International Leadership
Mr. John Watson - Distinguished Business Leadership
Mr. Tony Bennett - Distinguished Artistic Leadership
Juanes - Distinguished Humanitarian Leadership

2012 Honorees

UN Secretary-General Ban Ki-moon - Distinguished International Leadership
H.R.H. Prince Henry of Wales - Distinguished Humanitarian Leadership
Mr. Paul Polman - Distinguished Business Leadership
The Enlisted Men and Women of the United States Armed Forces - Distinguished Military Leadership
Ms. Anne-Sophie Mutter - Distinguished Artistic Leadership

2011 Honorees

Vice President Joe Biden - Distinguished International Leadership
 Admiral James G. Stavridis - Distinguished Military Leadership Award
 Mr. Muhtar Kent - Distinguished Business Leadership Award
 Mr. Placido Domingo - Distinguished Artistic Leadership Award

2010 Honorees

President William J.Clinton - Distinguished International Leadership
Bono - Humanitarian Leadership Award
Dr. Josef Ackermann - Distinguished Business Leadership Award
General Stéphane Abrial - Distinguished Military Leadership Awards
General James Mattis - Distinguished Military Leadership Awards

2009 Honorees

President George H.W. Bush - Distinguished International Leadership Award
Chancellor Helmut Kohl - Distinguished International Leadership Award
General David Petraeus - Distinguished Military Leadership Award
Ms. Samuel Palmisano - Distinguished Business Leadership Award
Mr. Thomas Hampson - Distinguished Artistic Leadership Award

2008 Honorees

Prime Minister Tony Blair - Distinguished International Leadership
Mr. Rupert Murdoch - Distinguished Business Leadership Award
Admiral Michael Mullen - Distinguished Military Leadership Award
Mr. Evgeny Kissin - Distinguished Artistic Leadership

2007 Honorees

Dr. Alan Greenspan - Distinguished International Leadership
General James L. Jones Jr. - Distinguished Military Leadership
Mr. Stephen A. Schwarzman - Distinguished Business Leadership

2006 Honoree

Senator John W. Warner - Distinguished International Leadership

2005 Honoree General Colin Powell - Distinguished International Leadership

2004 Honoree

Senator Chuck Hagel - Distinguished International Leadership

2003 Honorees

General Joseph Ralston - Distinguished International Leadership Lord George Robertson of Port Ellen - Distinguished International Leadership

2002 Honoree

Mr. Robert Rubin - Distinguished International Leadership

2001 Honoree

Dr. Henry Kissinger - Distinguished International Leadership

2000 Honoree

General Brent Scowcroft - Distinguished International Leadership

1999 Honoree

Mr. Paul Volcker - Outstanding Contribution to National Policy

1998 Honoree

Mr. Norman Augustine - Outstanding Contribution to National Security

1996 Honoree

Senator Sam Nunn - Outstanding Contribution to National Security

Distinguished Leadership Awards (/component/tags/tag/distinguished-leadership-awards)

RELATED CONTENT

2007 Leadership Awards: Greenspan, Schwarzman and Jones (/events/past-events/2007-leadership-awards-greenspan-schwarzman-and-jones)

The 2007 Awards Dinner of the Atlantic Council of the United...

Read More (/events/past-events/2007-leadership-awards-greenspan-schwarzman-and-jones)

2006 Leadership Award: Warner (/events/past-events/2006-leadership-award-warner)

On April 26, 2006, the Atlantic Council of the United States...

Read More (/events/past-events/2006-leadership-award-warner)

(http://www.youtube.com/atlanticcouncil)

Quick Find

Publications (/publications) Experts (/about/experts) About Us (/about) Contact Us (/contact) Careers (/careers/employment-internships) Subscribe (/subscribe)