

ORDERS APPROVED AT THE **PRIVY COUNCIL** HELD BY THE QUEEN AT BUCKINGHAM PALACE ON 28th JUNE 2007 AT 6.00 PM

Counsellors present

The Lord President of the Council Rt Hon Baroness Ashton of Upholland Rt Hon Gordon Brown MP
Rt Hon Jack Straw MP
Rt Hon Alistair Darling MP
Rt Hon David Miliband MP
Rt Hon Ruth Kelly MP
Rt Hon Alan Johnson MP
Rt Des Browne MP
Rt Hon John Hutton MP
Rt Hon Jacqui Smith MP
Rt Hon Harriet Harman QC, MP
Rt Hon John Denham MP
Rt Hon Douglas Alexander MP
Rt Hon Peter Hain MP

Lord President Baroness Ashton of Upholland was declared and sworn Lord

Rt Hon Hazel Blears MP

President of the Council.

Privy Counsellors

Three Orders recording that Ed Balls MP, Shaun Woodward MP, and Andy Burnham MP were sworn as Members of Her Majesty's Most Honourable Privy Council.

One Order recording that James Purnell MP was admitted, on affirmation, as a Member of Her Majesty's Most Honourable Privy Council.

First Lord of the Treasury Order recording that the Rt Hon Gordon Brown MP was sworn

First Lord of the Treasury and Minister for the Civil Service.

C S	ord hancellor and ecretary of tate for Justice	Order recording that the Rt Hon Jack Straw MP was sworn Lord High Chancellor of Great Britain and Secretary of State for Justice.
	hancellor of ne Exchequer	Order recording that the Rt Hon Alistair Darling MP was appointed, on affirmation, Chancellor of the Exchequer.
S aı C	ecretary of tate, Foreign and commonwealth ffairs	The Rt Hon David Miliband MP was appointed, on affirmation, one of Her Majesty's Principal Secretaries of State.
	ecretary of tate, Transport	The Rt Hon Ruth Kelly MP was sworn one of Her Majesty's Principal Secretaries of State.
	ecretary of tate, Health	The Rt Hon Alan Johnson was appointed, on affirmation, one of Her Majesty's Principal Secretaries of State.
S	ecretary of tate, Northern reland	The Rt Shaun Woodward MP was sworn one of Her Majesty's Principal Secretaries of State.
	ecretary of tate, Scotland	The Rt Des Browne MP was sworn one of Her Majesty's Principal Secretaries of State.
S E R	ecretary of tate, Business, nterprise and egulatory eform	The Rt John Hutton MP was sworn as President of the Board of Trade and one of Her Majesty's Principal Secretaries of State.
S	ecretary of tate, Culture, Iedia and	The Rt Hon James Purnell MP was appointed, on affirmation, one of Her Majesty's Principal Secretaries of State.

Lord Privy Seal The Rt Hon Harriet Harman QC, MP was appointed, on affirmation, Lord Privy Seal.

The Rt Hon Jacqui Smith MP was appointed, on affirmation, one

of Her Majesty's Principal Secretaries of State.

Sport

Secretary of

State, Home

Department

Secretary of State, Innovation, Universities and Skills	The Rt Hon John Denham MP was appointed, on affirmation, one of Her Majesty's Principal Secretaries of State.
Secretary of State, International Development	The Rt Douglas Alexander MP was sworn one of Her Majesty's Principal Secretaries of State.
Secretary of State, Work and Pensions	The Rt Hon Peter Hain MP was appointed, on affirmation, one of Her Majesty's Principal Secretaries of State.
Secretary of State, Children, Schools and Families	The Rt Hon Ed Balls MP was sworn one of Her Majesty's Principal Secretaries of State.
Secretary of State, Communities and Local Government	The Rt Hon Hazel Blears MP was sworn one of Her Majesty's Principal Secretaries of State.
President of the Board of Trade	Order appointing the Rt Hon John Hutton MP as President of the Board of Trade.
Privy Counsellors	Three Orders recording that Ed Miliband MP, the Honourable Lady Ann Paton and Sir Mark Malloch Brown KCMG were appointed as Members of Her Majesty's Most Honourable Privy Council.
Civil Service	The Civil Service (Amendment)(No 2) Order in Council 2007.
Petitions	Order referring a Petition of The Guild of International Bankers, praying for the grant of a Charter of Incorporation, to a Committee of the Privy Council.